First posts are always awkward…

…I mean, you can’t exactly just launch into a straight-up blog post, you have to figure out some kind of introduction, but the introduction sticks out like a sore thumb among your other pensées.

Hopefully I can do this thing without too much narcissism; blogging, after all, is really just intellectual masturbation – talking to hear the sound of your own voice (figuratively speaking). And I really have no idea who, if anyone, will read this. I’m new to the concept of writing about faith, and am just trying to find my voice, I guess. Many of my previous attempts have resulted in trite crapola, yet I know from experience that when I put my mind to it, I can be a damn good writer. .

So, I guess what you will find here is a bunch of (probably confused) musings on life, creativity, faith, film, social justice, church, Jesus…My theological influences are probably ridiculously eclectic – I am a huge fan of a lot of emerging church voices such as Peter Rollins, Rob Bell, Shane Claibourne and Brian McLaren, but also people like Tim Keller and Bill Johnson, and – wait for it – I also get a kick out of some of Mark Driscoll’s sermons (other times I just want to me the one doing the kicking)*. I grew up Catholic, ditched that early on, flirted briefly with atheism, ditched that just as quickly, and am currently part of a quasi-charismatic Vineyard church. I have a huge interest in organic expressions of church, and hope to find that in the future. I am also a feminist with anti-establishment tendencies, which makes things a little more interesting.

The blog title comes from a quote from G.K. Chesterton that pretty much sums up what I’m about:

Poetry is sane because it floats easily in an infinite sea; reason seeks to cross the infinite sea, and so make it finite. The result is mental exhaustion…The poet only asks to get his head into the heavens. It is the logician who seeks to get the heavens into his head. And it is his head that splits.

I should qualify that I am not a ‘poet’ in either the strict ‘someone who writes poetry’ sense (I actually hate poetry as a form of writing – with a few exceptions) or the pretentious ‘yeah man, I’m an artist‘ sense. I identify with the quote insofar as I prefer mysticism and ambiguity to systematic theology (at least, as I understand it).

* Aaaaand I’ve just realised that all those writers are white and male – of course. Where are all the minorities in theology?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Deconstructing too much? | head into the heavens

Leave a Reply

